Everybody’s Changing

3 Jun

Today at work we were without air conditioning. That was pretty entertaining. There’s a lot of people that do not endure the heat well. The maintenance people got the air going around 10, but it didn’t really make a difference to many areas of the office. One of my co-workers took the afternoon off because his office was stagnant, but after lunch it got much better, so his half-day didn’t really make sense.

I left my cell phone at work too, in my desk drawer. I have no idea why it’s in there. I remember putting it in there this morning, but not remebering why. My alarm clock is going to be going off all morning before I get to work, from 6:25 – 8:00. Whoops. Sorry if anyone has tried to call me.

I found out some news today, that my best work-friend is leaving our office to work at another company. She was at a bar one night and talking to a girl about jobs and this girl said that Worldwide Technologies is a great place to work. Jamie applied and she ended up getting an offer for a position. She’ll make about 7,500 more than she makes at our company. I’m very happy for her, but bummed.

We, as a team at work, are the un-official social committee. She’s always thinking of fun happy hours and things to do. We were on the holiday decorating committee and the baby shower committee. That’s one of the ways that we became good friends. She just the person I can go to and vent and have girly lunch with. She always knows the best office gossip. It’s hard for me to make friends, I guess, and I’m bummed that I feel like I’m sort of losing one of my close friends.

It also brings up another issue, which seems to happen in waves throughout my life. It’s this thing where I feel like everyone else is changing and going places and I’m staying the same. So many of my good friends are moving away soon or have moved away. That is a downside of being out of college. It takes work to stay in communication with some people. Others, its easy, you can go for a month without talking and there’s no hard feelings. I realize that I’m to the point where I’m going to have to depend on my future husband more and more, but I miss my friends.

In other news, I’m watching the Stanley Cup Finals game in double overtime right now. It’s pretty exciting, actually. I hung a bunch of pictures tonight and straightened stuff. Mom and I got some begonias this past weekend and I planted them. Let’s hope I can keep them alive for a long time. I will take pictures soon.

2 Responses to “Everybody’s Changing”

  1. braincandle June 4, 2008 at 3:19 am #

    Thank you for the postcard, Molly!

    Man, those Stanley Cup finals last night delayed Jay Leno/Conan for TWO HOURS! Unacceptable!

  2. citysidewalk June 5, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    you should apply at that place!! then you wont have to miss your work friend 🙂
    There are always pauses in life- when one feels like they aren’t going places- I may be moving- but its only two months- which I feel like is an eternity but its really a short time! I miss you brown eyed girl!

Leave a Reply

