Clock

22 Oct

My mom gave me my grandmother’s old clock with a pedulum that had hung on grandma’s wall for years and years. One day, when we were there, Jim pointed out how he thought that it was really neat.

An auctioneer may buy the rest of the possessions in my grandmother’s house outright, (I haven’t heard for sure) but he was supposed to have come yesterday. Leaving her house full of things on Sunday was really hard. She was so attached to all of them, it was like saying goodbye to her all over again.

Mom gave me the clock so it will hang on my wall for many years. She knows I’ll never get rid of it. Here’s the strange thing…

I can’t remember the last time that clock actually kept time. It seems like it was always on the wrong time. I just have it propped against the wall in the living room. I looked at it as I walked by to get a glass of water and…the clock is keeping time.  I just confirmed with Jim that he hadn’t done anything with it and he said that he hadn’t.

Perhaps it’s coincidence, but I like to think it’s my grandma saying she’s closer we thought.

3 Responses to “Clock”

  1. Marla October 22, 2008 at 11:45 am #

    I’m glad that Grandma is keeping in touch in her own way. This is a great story.

  2. JESS October 22, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    She is definitely happy that you have her clock 🙂

  3. jenthesweetbuns October 23, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    That is AMAZING. I’m a huge believer in those sort of things. I sometimes smell mothballs for a few seconds when I’m driving or in my room. I’ve always believed it’s my Grandma looking in on me, letting me know just to keep on living.

Leave a Reply

