There’s something about a rock show!

17 Nov

 

Last night Jim and I went to “Celebration Day,” St. Louis’s Tribute to Led Zeppelin. We went there last year and were blown-away by the performance and this year was no different! Those guys played for over three-and-a-half hours STRAIGHT through, never stopping. Every song was dead-on with Zeppelin’s songs, every note was spot-on.

There’s something about a rock show that just gets people going. I know it does it to me. Especially watching the guitarist. This guitarist’s name was Jimmy Griffin and I was so entertained by the way he could slip and slide across the stage, play a guitar solo over his head, and smoke a cigarette at the same time. Holy crap. There’s something about guitar playing that is so amazing sexy and I have never put my finger on it. I just know that I literally either cry or lose my breath every time Jim plays because of how talented he is.

I remember having a conversation in high school with my friend Susanne about how drummers were really hot – how they way they kept rhythm made us think they’d be good at other things, however, I’m going to say guitar players are much sexier.

I didn’t really mean to go into that speech about what I find sexy, but I’ll leave it. Please let me know if any of you beg to differ or if you find any other instruments sexy.

Well, last night was so inspired about the show that I was just trying to record in my brain all that was around me. I sensed a poetic moment approaching and by the time we got out to the car, I was writing notes all down my arm (I didn’t have my purse with me so there was no opportunity for scratch paper). When I woke up this morning, I looked like I had a really cool tattoo. Anyway, I wrote a poem about the experience that I’m proud of and I’d like to formuate here:

Celebration Day

At a tribute concert for Led Zeppelin,

The kids were not the ones causing ruckus,

instead, they swayed like old videos of hippies –

only imitating another generation,

while that old generation sat above them, in velvet

balcony seats, with friends, signficant others, and

anywhere for from one-to-twenty beers

rocking the fuck out.

Take for instance, the man standing while no one else stood,

doing a 56 year old man hump dance,

air guitar between peace signs,

imitating the band in his henley turtleneck and

Wrangler jeans, and in his mind, he was Jimmy Page

And how about the lady who drank close to ten beers,

with a child at home,

and thirty extra pounds around her midsection,

her index finger and pinky raised and charging forth into the air, the perfect rock out symbol,

until her elbow jacked her neighbor in the face,

and she never noticed, her hand and thoughts focused on the beat of the music

and frankly, the victim of her elbow didn’t seem to care either –

But the most surprising was the lady in the upper deck with

her arm in a cast and sling – nearly 70 years old,

but that didn’t stop her from gyrating her hips to the bathroom,

holding multiple beers on her way back from the bar,

and holding a lighter with her bum arm and shaking her other wildly during Stairway.

Pain doesn’t exist near so much when a twin-neck Gibson is onstage,

rocking so sweetly –

audio anesthetic.

It makes you forget

the pain of life

the nine to five

the kids below,

that looks so much like us – only years ago.

3 Responses to “There’s something about a rock show!”

  1. Marla November 17, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    🙂

    So glad you had a good time!

  2. citysidewalk November 19, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    Amazing poem Molly. I LOVED reading it- I could TOTALLY visualize the old lady!

  3. cindysheets November 24, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    Sweet poem! I love it. It reminds me of going to see ZZ Top. I was shocked we weren’t the oldest fans there.

Leave a Reply

