Trying not to let it stop me.

26 Nov

So, I went to the doctor yesterday, after feeling not right for over a week. I reached out to two other doctors and they just told me to take Immodium for the issues that I was having.

Somehow, by the grace of God, I got an appt with Jim’s uncle Dr. Ebel yesterday. It’s very hard to get in to see him, but as soon as he heard my name, he asked me to come in. I told him my symptoms and everything and he told me he thought he knew what it was, but wasn’t sure if he could stop it by the wedding day, but that he thought so.

I have pseudomembraneous colitis, caused by a foreign bacteria that has started growing in my intestines. That’s what my stomach pains have been, my frequent painful visits to the bathroom. It was caused by the antibiotic climdamyacin (which I took earlier this month for a mouth infection). He said that some cases are really hard to get rid of and others are easier. I’m praying that mine will be easier.

I swear that I just thought he was going to say, oh you’re nervous, just relax… THANK GOD I went. He put me on an antibiotic that will clear out all the bacteria again and hopefully, it will clear out the bad stuff too. Already, I’ve noticed that my trips to the bathroom aren’t as terrible or painful, but they’re still there. It’s at least more manageable.

Thank goodness for him helping me and seeing me. It makes me want to cry to think that I was told to ignore my body, that it was just nerves. I listened to myself and I’m really glad that I did.

That said, I’m no longer terribly fearful about my body on my wedding day, nor am I terribly nervous about anything that’s going to happen that day. There’s just a couple more errands to run. I took the day off today from work because yesterday was a little bit traumatic. I never thought that I’d have to have my blood drawn (which wasn’t as bad as I expected) or give a stool sample (which I had to drive to a lab today that was impossible to find).

Life is all about new experiences I guess. I never ceased to be amazed.

Needless to say, I’m a little hesistant to pig out at Thanksgiving dinners (tonight and tomorrow). But perhaps it’s a good thing for my waistline. I also cannot drink alcohol at all while on this medicine, so I will have to drink sparkling cider for our toast. I have to remember to tell my mom about that! It’s okay. I’m not bummed about it now. I’d rather remember every moment clearly.

2 Responses to “Trying not to let it stop me.”

  1. laurieliberrian November 30, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    Dear Molly,
    We hope everything went well and that you and Jim are doing well. Thought of you yesterday @ 2pm while in the car driving home from Delaware.
    Best Wishes for a happy married life adventure,
    Love to you both, Keith’s parents (Laurie & Brad)

  2. Kelly December 2, 2008 at 6:04 am #

    I am sorry to hear about this happening right before your wedding! I had a similar intestinal bacteria last Christmas, and it was AWFUL. I hope it got better in time! And I hope your wedding went well!

Leave a Reply

