Going home for Christmas

23 Dec

I just wrote a big blog, but it’s gone. Because sometimes, the internet hiccups.

1. I have gallbladder problems most likely, says my doctor. They drew a bunch of blood to confirm. I should know the results of that tomorrow afternoon. If my levels are up, then I need to have an ultrasound.

2. He also is also testing my blood for pregnancy because I have been spotting for over two weeks. Not sure why this would signify pregnancy, but okay.

3. Going home tomorrow for early Christmas celebration. Mom starts radiation Christmas eve. It will be really weird not opening presents Christmas morning with them.

4. Thank God the doctor told me I could still eat pasta and red sauce. I am on a pretty much no-fat diet. The more fats, acids, and preservatives I ingest, the more chance my gallbladder will refuse it. So, I’ve been on this diet (through research) for two days and so far my pain has been subsiding. Fingers crossed for tonight (night is when the symptoms really come out). I can eat fruits and veggies as long as they are fresh or steamed. I can eat some meat, but only if it is lean. While on my diet, I haven’t eaten any dairy, so I’m not sure how my stomach will react if I try it. It’s all a big experiment right now. I can’t believe how limited I feel when it comes to my eating choices, especially at restaurants. I have no idea how we’re going to work that out. Eating out was our thing. I have already lost eight pounds in three weeks.

5. Most of all, I’m trying to count my blessings. I hope everyone has a great Christmas. And if you are reading this, you are truly a blessing in my life. You give me love and hope everyday and I’m so grateful for that.

One Response to “Going home for Christmas”

  1. jasmineknight December 26, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    The best posts are short and sweet!
    I hope they find out what’s wrong with you. Good luck on the diet and Merry Christmas.

    Jasmine x

Leave a Reply

