And so this is Christmas

26 Dec

I really like that John Lennon song.

Christmas was weird. It was the first time it wasn’t the same. It was my first, so-called, adult Christmas, I believe.

Mom got her radiation on Wednesday. She cried a lot. I haven’t been able to talk to her since.

We stayed with Josh’s parents that night. My sister baked and baked and baked. We worked on sugar cookies for hours. I will post pictures of them later. They turned out really well – we hadn’t done that in a long time. I’m glad that we did that. It was a good special memory.

It was strange not to go to midnight mass or have dinner at my aunt’s house on Christmas Eve. I missed the religious aspect of the holiday, which kind of comes to a surprise to me. Who has fun sitting at church? I guess I do. I like the way it makes me feel safe and protected and connected to those around me, and all people, actually. It was also strange not to wake up with my parents on Christmas morning with our Santa hats. I guess I found out how much the traditions mean this Christmas.

That’s not to say that we didn’t have a good time or didn’t get good gifts. Jim and I did our “Jolly Christmas” (Jim + Molly = Jolly) a few days earlier. He got me a really awesome new FAST digital camera (Sony Super Cybershot) and I got him the PSP he’s been wanting and a couple games. We bought them right in front of each others noses – that way we got each other exactly what we wanted. That was a nice part of it.

It was nice that Jim and I were together too – last Christmas we spent it separate with our families. Last Christmas was when I unveiled the engagement ring to my aunts, uncles, and cousins. Last Christmas, Jim was a photo to them… this year, he is my husband.

I feel very close to my sister, closer than I possibly ever have and I don’t know when she and Josh are leaving for his new job, but I will be super super sad to see them go. I lean on them so much and need them in my life. But I’m proud of them for making the decision to do what they need to do.

Christmas was good, but I’m looking forward to next year for some normalcy!

“Have a merry, merry Christmas / And a happy new year / Let’s hope it’s a good one / without any fear.” – John Lennon

christmas-07-426 Making breakfast, Christmas 2007

One Response to “And so this is Christmas”

  1. Meagan January 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    I love you, Mol. I love how much closer we are these days. You are a very special person. BTW that pic of us is awesome!! Mom is looking super bossy early in the morning, I am not surprised 🙂

Leave a Reply

