Proust Survey – Deep Stuff…

20 Jan

I got this from someone on facebook who always shares interesting content.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Interestingly, I feel like being surrounded by friends and those I love laughing is my perfect happiness. Take playing a board game or sitting on the couch with a beer. Laughing so hard that soreness ensues. Or falling asleep next to your best friend on the same pillow. Someone once told me it doesn’t get any better than your wedding day, when you’re surrounded by everyone who loves and who has loved you. That also was a dizzyingly happy moment.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Oversensitivity

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Vanity or selfishness

What is your greatest extravagance?
The most expensive thing I’ve ever bought myself in one fell swoop is my laptop at about $1,000
What is your current state of mind?
Open.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Chastity

On what occasion do you lie?
When I say I don’t mind doing something for someone at work, when I really do.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?
At the moment, I’m having a love/hate relationship with my hair.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Gentleness and sincerity

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
Passion and humor

Which living person do you most admire?
My sister, Meagan. She’s strong in ways I can only dream of being.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
Probably, “Oh my God.”

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
I really love learning and observing. And I love Jim very much.

When and where were you happiest?
Probably my wedding day for reasons described in the first answer of this survey.

Which talent would you most like to have?
I wish I had some sort of talent for anything musical.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
Not to be distracted by menial ventures. I would write more.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Doing my plays at Webster. There was nothing like seeing the reactions from the audience.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?
I have no idea. Being a dog wouldn’t be so bad. I kinda like being myself too.

Where would you like to live?
I felt a great feeling of peace in Utah. Maybe I’ll give that a try someday.

What is your most treasured possession?
I’m sure there’s a few things. Very old pictures of family members. Written correspondence. My fieldbook I kept during college.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Being alonge but not having the strength to reach out to anyone or do anything.

What is your most marked characteristic?
A smile?

Who are your favorite writers?
There’s a lot. Poets: AI, Phillip Levine, and Charles Bukowski, Ronald Wallace (who I met and who liked my name). I feel like I can always breeze through Spalding Gray’s monologues. Jennifer Weiner writes a great girly book, as does Stephanie Meyer.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?
Another hard one! Maybe I’ll say Lestat from Anne Rices Vampire Chronicles.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Once, I played Mary Todd Lincoln in a re-enactment. I felt like her insanity was probably misunderstood.

Who are your heroes in real life?
My dad, for working so hard for everything he has and for being the most devoted husband and father I could imagine. My aunt Irene for her attitude. My sister, again, for her strength. Marla also, for her strength, generosity, and how no matter what is going on in her life, she always has time to help and listen to others.

What is your greatest regret?
Not taking a step in my life a little sooner.
How would you like to die?
I don’t know. I want to live a lot more before that happens.

What is your motto?
Everything happens for a reason.

Leave a Reply

