Jethro Tull is not just one man

11 Feb

I heard this song on the radio the other day that used a bunch of crazy flutes and electric guitar. It was actually the night when I was driving home from Alton and falling asleep at the same time. Jim had to keep bumping me awake and I was like, What are all those crazy flutes about, they’e putting me to sleep!

Jim, though he knew at the time, wouldn’t tell me the band’s name. I just found it out tonight. Jethro Tull. I found out after naming like every CD from Jim’s CD collection because he was hell-bent on making me remember and I couldn’t. He loves to torture my curiosity so.

There is a reference to this band in Anchorman when Ron Burgundy is doing his jazz flute and he’s like, Ahhhhqualung! That’s Jethro Tull.

I was confused because I thought Jethro Tull was a dude, like a big burly woodsman who rides a motorcycle cross country and uses pine bark for toliet paper. But “he’s” actually a band of a bunch of old dudes who turned the flute into something rock n roll.

But now everytime I hear that flute, I keep picturing Ron Burgundy popping up in that bathroom stall between that dude’s legs and I laugh.

Sidenote: Jen, did you ever play any Jethro Tull when you did your 48 years of flute lessons?

One Response to “Jethro Tull is not just one man”

  1. jenthesweetbuns February 12, 2009 at 5:52 am #

    Alas, I did not. I mainly played classical, patriotic, and movie scores.

Leave a Reply

