Don’t sweat the small stuff

9 Apr

My boss has been listening to “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” in her car. One of the pieces of advice had to do with “Walk slower, talk slower. Show people that you care.” At work, this is especially true. Sometimes I walk really fast just so I don’t necessarily have to think of something to say to people. What’s so bad about saying good morning, how are you doing?

Another thing it explained was, when someone is talking, do not try to finish their sentences. I’m SO guilty of this. I do it all the time, at home and at work. I’m going to try to go one day without it. Sometimes I feel like finishing the sentence is merciful.  But the reason that we should not do it, the recommendation states, is because we should be concentrating on what the person is saying and now what’s next, what’s next, what’s next. 

This is something I’m going to try.

Leave a Reply

