Thoughts on Food

10 Jul

Thank you for your replies about what men want for lunch. They are much appreciated. Most of these things I will try, however, Keith – you’re right, fake meat is not up Jim’s alley. I’ve tried it with him in the past (I used veggie crumbles in lasagna) and he knew immediately and didn’t eat any of the rest of my 9X13 pan. So, it went to waste. Lesson learned.

He did give me two ideas today. I’m going to get different kinds of meats out of the deli (which I hate getting because they’re so expensive, but I’ll make an exception if he’s going to eat them) and I’m going to make a batch of meatballs and freeze them, as well as some marinara sauce to make meatball sandwiches when he wants them. This means I have to make both meatballs and marinara from scratch this weekend if I want to have this stuff ready for next week. We shall see. Thankfully, the meatballs are to-die-for.

2 Responses to “Thoughts on Food”

  1. braincandle July 11, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    Sounds good to me. Sorry to hear that the veggie substitutes were unsuccessful. We always had the best luck with the fake chicken patties as chicken fillet sandwiches and the fake corn dogs/corn dog nuggets. I think Marla and I will be taking a sojourn from meat for a while considering that’s all we’ve really eaten for the past 6 months. I do like all the different interesting meats you can get at the deli, though. Except for weird ones with pieces of olives and shit in them. Olives? Really?

  2. Molly July 11, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Agreed, olives do not belong in meat. I definitely understand getting tired of meat. I was totally excited the other night when Dave and Busters had a veggie burger because those are really hard for me to find.

Leave a Reply

