She’s a QA Queeeeeen

29 Jul

I’m a little tired of work right now – I’ve been working on a request from one of our sales reps for the past two hours at home. Because I assured him it would get done first thing in the morning. Some people don’t realize all that goes into what we do and it’s very frustrating. I was interrupted twice during a meeting with my manager for this request. A lot of people on our team are having to stretch themselves very thin, including my manager. I feel bad for the mothers and fathers who have to spend time away from their children. I guess it’s just the way it goes.

I can’t imagine putting my (future) child in daycare. I never went to daycare as a child. My mom stayed at home with me until I was 12. She wouldn’t let me go to kindergarten until I was 6. While I realize the value of immersing the child with other children, I liked staying home with my family a lot. The cost of daycare seems staggering – I’d probably just be working to support the daycare. Plus, that’s leaving the children with strangers. And so many germs. If you were in daycare as a child, what was it like for you? How do you feel about it now?

Right now, I’m so ready to cuddle up in bed and relax with a book. I’m very thankful for being able to do that!

3 Responses to “She’s a QA Queeeeeen”

  1. .stephanie July 30, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    I went to daycare until kindergarten. I don’t really remember much about it. The only things I remember is learning to like bologna sandwhiches with ketchup and mustard. Yes, yes I know that is sounds disgusting, but I enjoyed them, still do.

    I also remember slap bracelet wars. Oh, and I wet my pants once, that was tramatizing….

  2. Sweet Buns July 31, 2009 at 9:54 am #

    I went to daycare for a short time. I remembered that I didn’t like being separated from Krista. I don’t remember why we were separated. I was a very shy child and didn’t really talk to anyone.

    My daycare belief is that you need to do what’s best for you and not regret it later.

    Children will be exposed to the same amount of germs in daycare as they will in school. It’s important to expose them to germs to increase their immune system. Or else they will get sick all the time.

    I can see a huge difference in the socialization skills between Animal House and Chubs. I spent 2 days of 1-on-1 time with Chubs in her home environment and she spent another 2 day with at her Grandma’s house with her 4yr old and 6yr old boy cousins. The doc says she’s 4 months ahead developmentally and is amazed at how sociable she is at 12 months.

    Animal House is totally the opposite. She really never leaves the house and I’m the only other person outside the family she spends time with. She rarely gets to spend time with other kids. She has major stranger anxiety and gets cranky if she’s outside of her home. Her crawling started when she spent a couple hours with Chubs. I think that says something.

    Sorry about the long response.

  3. JESS August 8, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    I liked the socialization of daycare- but we got teased alot by the older kids for being chubbie bunnies.
    The Gymbo kids- who’s moms worked part-time and stayed home part-time- Were freaking baby geniuses. This however requires some sort of financial ninja counterpart

Leave a Reply

