I Put Your Picture Away

22 Feb

So, when you get a thank you note, or a card, or letter, or picture in the mail, what do you do with it?

Me, I save them. I save and have saved almost all correspondence that I have between friends and family. I dug through a bunch of that correspondence today and yesterday at my parents house. I found things I couldn’t believe that I had. I felt like I was on an episode of Hoarders because the stuff just kept coming and coming…

My parents are having an auction to get rid of a bunch of stuff, and I brought home (literally) an entire carload of items that we didn’t need at our apartment to auction off (to get money!). I brought almost an entire carload back of correspondence and pictures. Yes.

You never know when the value of a once-meaningless piece of paper is going to rise in terms of value. I am so glad that I kept one letter from my grandfather. I’m so glad I still know what my grandmother’s handwriting looks like.

I found a ton of pictures of Chad, and also some that he had taken of his family. I know that the typical ex behavior is to destroy these pictures, but I can’t really do that. He was a part of my life for a few years. I’ve decided to keep some of the pictures of us together. The ones of just him, and the photos he took in college, I’m going to send to his mom. I may send some of his friends and him together to our old friend Mike. I think they would mean something to him. I just can’t destroy those memories if they would mean something to someone else.

I also opened a giant box of hanson memorabilia. Jim peered inside and gaped at all the items that I had saved over the years. I’m relieved to say that he didn’t run away screaming. Quite the contrary.

Leave a Reply

