Sexist

7 Apr

I was told by a client that one of my scenarios was sexist today.

For those of you who do not know, I was a Women’s Studies Minor, as well as a feminist.

I didn’t think that this scenario was sexist, because it simply seemed normal to me. Perhaps I’m reading into this too much, but have I slipped into a gender stereotypical role? My husband takes out the trash. I cook. But he does the dishes.

I think I’m reading into it too far. Here’s the scenario:

I use this to explain why someone might need overdraft protection:

Marc buys 12 quarts of motor oil using his debit card connected with his joint savings account. Marc doesn’t realize that his wife just bought school clothes for their children in a back-to-school shopping spree using the money from their joint account. Unfortunately, this causes Marc’s motor oil purchase to overdraft their joint deposit account. Hopefully Marc and his wife have overdraft protection on their account!

3 Responses to “Sexist”

  1. citysidewalk April 7, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    That’s not sexist. Change the names around or make it a gay couple. Then it will be OKKKKAAAAYYYY for those crazy mofo’s lol*

  2. Marla April 9, 2010 at 4:11 am #

    as long as they are both happy with their gender roles, who fucking cares!

    i think that statement would only be sexist to overly sensitive people who are looking for a reason to be offended.

  3. Keith April 9, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Why was Marc buying so much motor oil? My car only takes 3.5 quarts.

Leave a Reply

