Why I Wasn’t Allowed to See the World

21 Apr

My mother was having a conversation with a lady at work whose son is studying abroad. My mother said, “My daughter wanted to study abroad, but I wouldn’t let her. She’s allergic to penicillin and I was afraid she would get sick and they would give her the wrong medicine.”

Yes, I’m bitter. This is why I didn’t use my free flight fare to see Europe. FML.

3 Responses to “Why I Wasn’t Allowed to See the World”

  1. Meagan April 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Ahh glorious! She is a piece of work 🙂

  2. Andrea April 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    McNew,

    You shouldn’t feel bad.
    Because I know one day you WILL make the trek across the pond.
    And you will love every second of it.
    This just gives you more ammunition….don’t be bitter. Everything happens for a reason.

  3. Amber April 22, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    You know, you’re going to end up getting whatever tragic illness that brings you to the penicillin because you can’t stay away from the damn trash cans! Can’t take you anywhere, I swear. I try to keep you safe in the Ozarks, but I can’t be responsible for you overseas!!!

Leave a Reply

