The Difference Between a Writer and an Editor

1 May

Written this morning:

I just switched my car insurance and it made me really sad. I hated to think of my little hometown losing business. Lately, I keep feeling like I’m growing into a more homegenized part of society than I ever thought.

When I was little, I always dreamed of getting a big old hous eand having a black room with splatter paint walls and beautiful antiques and making it someplace both homey and artsy: creative. When we think about changes to our home right now, the phrase “resale value” keeps coming up more often than not. I think I’m tired of concentrating on the future.

I want to live in the present. Living in the future makes me overly conscious. It exhausts me. I cry each time I leave Palmyra because A) I do miss my family and B) because I feel like I may be losing that creative child-like soul. A lot of this is a product of my job. My job is to ensure that banks STAY within the rules and things have to be written very precisely. I am so within the box there.

The key difference between a write and an editor is creativity. The editor lives in a very safe and careful box. Everything they need is within that box. The writer has the editors initial skills, but her box has windows that view oceans and neighbors and little dogs with sweaters – and she wonders why the ocean waves roll (and prefers to make her own answers rather than settle on those of science) and she chortles at the neighbors with their leaf blowers and after trying to sweep each furry seed pod from her deck – realizes the beauty of the leaf blower! And the little dog in the sweater is her inspiration for sniffing and wandering through all life’s little mysteries – all while looking fabulous.

2 Responses to “The Difference Between a Writer and an Editor”

  1. missingrose May 1, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Please paint your black room…. Resale value what?! Its your home… go crazy! 😉 I’ll help!

  2. citysidewalk May 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    try being both a writer and an editor..no wait. that already made one of us bat shit crazy. I agree with painting whatever the hell you want. If you move- you can slap on a cover color. Feed the artist- feed the soul.

Leave a Reply

