50 Years

2 Jul

My neighbor was just telling me that she and her husband have been married fifty years. She is always outside with her dog Jessie, a striking black and white pit bull. She’s Peg’s best friend. My neighbor was telling me about her husband today and she was saying that she met him on a blind date. And that he was her last date she would ever have.

I’ve never met her husband because he stays inside most of the time. He has had two types of cancers, COPD, and emphysema. One night a week, she takes him to a restaurant called Tequila – their date night – so he can have  one of their margaritas. Seeing the twinkle in her eye, even though her husband has so many problems, made me appreciate true love once again.

I want to be married fifty years.

Leave a Reply

