Mad, updated

20 Aug

I’m so mad I could scream!!!!!!!!!!!!

Details later.

(It’s later).

I would just love to make a meatloaf. The warm smells of rosemary and brown sugar and beef all milling through my walls. I was going to make a meatloaf on Tuesday night. I haven’t done this since March, and it’s one of our favorite meals. I haven’t eaten a fucking breadstick made by me in months either. All week, living and tripping over our dining room table and microwave cart, we’ve said

“Let’s just get through this week.”

That’s exactly what we’ve done. We’ve made it. Peg’s been blocked off from most of the house in that time and is incredibly active when we get home. She’s been pretty good considering. The kitchen sink is full of nails and old boards, we have a giant hole in our kitchen floor and the real kitchen floor is sitting in our living room awaiting installation.

It’s not THAT bad, I’m just READY to have a kitchen again. That kitchen was scheduled to be installed by Tuesday. This weekend, a lot of family members were helping us with wiring and demolition (and floor installation). It was all planned out.

Then, I get a message on my work phone stating that the cabinets won’t be in so we have to wait an extra week for my new kitchen.

ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?

I made Jim call his stepsister’s husband back, (who owns the business we’ve hired to do all of this). I had to go into a meeting this afternoon, so I couldn’t do it. I’m glad I couldn’t because I had this rage rising inside of me – this intense frustration. I gave him more than half of the cost of the labor and supplies three weeks ago! Money was not an issue. Apparently there’s an issue with the distributor who held his order and my cabinets will be put on a semi going to God knows where before it gets here.

So WHO KNOWS when they will end up on my walls. No one has a freaking ETA for when that’s going to happen.

Jim’s a little embarrassed by my anger, but I’m the customer here. If I have a dissatisfied customer at my work, I do everything, I mean everything in my power to ensure that they are happy by the time I get off the phone with them. I know it’s not anyone’s fault, but then that date shouldn’t have been promised if the distributor is flighty about his orders. Just saying.

Jim and I worked our asses the last two days nailing, priming, and sanding underlayment because we wanted to have the floor all ready for Monday. We primed tonight, and it smells horrible, so I’m typing with my door shut and the dog whining (she chased a rabbit in the dark tonight so she’s on our shit list). It’s my time to chill. Anger, please step aside.

Leave a comment